enslaved odyssey to the west video review

Three years after it was released on consoles, Enslaved: Odyssey to the West has shown up on PC. Has it been worth the long wait? Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is an Action-Adventure Video Game developed by Ninja Theory. The game is published by Namco Bandai and out for PlayStation 3. Follow a gripping, surprise-filled journey as two dissimilar characters form an uneasy partnership in order to survive through a perilous.

Thematic video

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West-Video Review

Review: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West Premium Edition

Enslaved 1

For reasons unknown, the previously console-only Enslaved: Odyssey to the West was recently ported to PC, popping up on Steam as a ‘Premium Edition’ (some enslaved odyssey to the west video review years after its original release). I was excited to check it out – being a PC guy through-and-through, I never got the chance to try it when it was first released, and I always thought it looked interesting. My curousity only grew after playing developer Ninja Theory’s latest offering, DmC, earlier this year, a game that I was hugely impressed by.

Enslaved is set in a post-apocalyptic USA, some 150 years in the future. You play Monkey, a sort of Tarzan of the apocalypse; you are forced, by use of a ‘slave headband’, to accompany and protect a young girl named Trip as she makes her way through the wilderness back to her home. In your way are hordes of ‘mechs’, deadly robots seemingly obsessed with murdering humans.

Gameplay consists largely of a mix of fighting robots and traversing the environment, with some stealth sections, simple puzzles, and a few set-piece action scenes thrown in for variety. The traversal is pretty rudimentry – though satisfying enough, it consists mostly of just holding in the right direction and pressing a button. The combat, however, despite at first seeming like a basic button-mashing affair, has surprising depth and variety. It’s all about crowd-control – you can fight a robot 1-on-1 easy, but you can’t let them surround you or you’re toast. This forces you to use a system of sweeps, stuns, dodges and ranged ‘plasma blasts’ to keep out of harm’s way. It calls for both quick reflexes and tactical thinking – I played on Hard, and often found myself really having to think out my approach to each combat scenario in order to succeed.

Enslaved 3

What really carries the game, however, is its characters. Amazon prime rewards vs store card and Trip, and comic relief Pigsy, are incredibly well-realised. Performances are excellent, both in voice-work and in mo-cap – with Andy Serkis on board (the man behind Gollum), both directing and portraying Monkey, it’s perhaps not surprising. Facial expressions are especially brilliant, animated with enough fidelity for the actors to convey subtle and genuine emotions on the character’s cartoonish faces, something very rarely seen in video games even now. The writing pulls it all together, creating interesting and believable dynamics between the characters. Monkey and Trip’s relationship is especially good – Monkey, forced into servitude against his will, slowly comes to see exactly how in need of his help Trip is, while Trip balances her guilt at enslaving him with her desperation to survive. Even when the story drags, the characters keep you invested.

The visual designs of the characters compliment their personalities perfectly – indeed the art-style and animation throughout is superb. Despite its now advanced age, the game still looks absolutely beautiful. In contrast to the brown wastelands that have become cliche in gaming, Enslaved‘s post-apocalypse is vibrant and colourful – lush greenery grows over the ruins, warm sunlight beams through the trees, and even your robot foes are painted in bright primary colours. It’s hugely refreshing to explore an apocalyptic world that doesn’t feel the need to be unrelentingly harsh and grim – despite its danger, the wilderness feels cheerful, like it would actually be a nice place to live if only all these bloody robots would bugger off.

Enslaved 2

It’s unfortunate, then, that this is only the most basic of ports – no graphics options to speak of. Given how little fanfare has accompanied its arrival on PC, this is perhaps not surprising. Go into this expecting a ‘console experience’ on your PC, rather than all the bells and whistles you’d expect of a current PC game – by the same token, you’ll want to use a gamepad rather than a mouse and keyboard. The port does come bundled with the game’s DLC spin-off, Pigsy’s Perfect 10, a piece of content so good I decided to review it separately.

Enslaved was sadly overlooked in its own time, kriss vector crb gen 2 and ultimately failing to make the sales it needed to prove its worth. I’m not sure what’s motivated its re-release on PC, but I sincerely hope the game sees something of a renaissance on the new platform. I’m not sure I can name a game with better character work in the 3 years since its debut – it’s worth a look for that alone. Beautiful aesthetics, original ideas and solid gameplay are just the icing on the cake.

Enslaved 4

Like this:

LikeLoading.

Related

Tagged with: Enslaved: Odyssey to the Enslaved odyssey to the west video review, Namco Bandai, Ninja Theory, Video Games
Posted in Reviews, Video Games

Источник: https://famouswerewolf.com/2013/10/28/review-enslaved-odyssey-to-the-west-premium-edition/

Latest Reviews

Sort By Score

2 Months Ago

subrussian

PlayStation 3 - 60%

Gameplay: 3.5
Story: 3
Graphics: 4
Sound: 5
Replayability: 3

3 Months Ago

Kolsher31

PC - 90%

+Positives
+combat mechanics
+movement sections
+voice-acting
+animations for combat, climbing and characters faces are pretty good considering the game is from 2010
+visuals, art direction and lightning
+music
+narrative and writing

-Negatives
-can get repetitve after a while
-UI
-unfourtnely the game underperformed in 2010 and we probably will never see a sequel since the game ends on a possible future

11 Months Ago

Drizzay_D

Xbox 360 - 80%

This is a really underappreciated game. Very cool story and interesting, if kinda clunky, gameplay. Honestly, play on a low difficulty so you can enjoy the story more.

11.5 Months Ago

CryowolfGG

PC - 80%

https://cryowolf.gg/games/enslaved-odyssey-to-the-west/?preview

1 Year Ago

CutePlayThrows

PC - 60%

Overall rating throughout this game based on my enjoyment:
6/10
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐✰ ✰ ✰ ✰

1 Year Ago

hydrokeith

Xbox 360 - 80%

Platforming is a little clunky and irritating sometimes, combat is satisfying but relatively simple, story/characters/ and general concept was very cool. 8.4/10

1 Year Ago

geratius

PC - 20%

Graficznie spoko. Walka średnia, ale najgorsze jest sterowanie rodem z konsol, gdzie kamera ucieka i lata w różnych kierunkach. Gra nie jest intuicyjna, a jak doszedłem do momentu z minami, to się zaciąłem, bo ciągle ginąłem. Niby mam umiejętność na ich widzenie, ale nie znam zasięgu i dupa blada. Na necie widziałem filmik, że niby pokazuje, więc u mnie coś nie wczytało. Jakoś sobie poradziłem, to znów jazda z tym, że mnie zauważono, a nie wiem jak i głupie zmienianie kamery. Nie da się grać w tę grę. Żałuję, że ją kupiłem.

1 Year Ago

saaaahil

PC - 60%

Kinda underwhelmed. I knew that the gameplay was largely uncharted without the budget, so I didn't mind how clumsy it felt in most sequences, but the way people have talked about the game (and the fact that it's written by Alex Garland) had me hoping there would be more going on with the story. It really just sets up the world in the first hour and then does basically nothing with the sci-fi stuff until the final cutscene. Seeing Andy Serkis enslaved odyssey to the west video review all the flashback things was pretty funny, tho. There are a few strong moments and story beats, but I don't understand why Enslaved has it's reputation as some overlooked gem.

1 Year Ago

Private

PC - 70%

The first half was pretty good, but enslaved odyssey to the west video review second half dragged on and became tedious. Andy Serkis was awesome in here.

1.5 Years Ago

Private

PC - 70%

It's a bit clunky at times, and the platforming doesn't always feel as responsive as you would want, but it's a decent albeit simplistic game.

1.5 Years Ago

Beowulf94

PlayStation 3 - 70%

One Hell of a Trip

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is an interesting game. With an solid cast, stellar facial animation, and a well told narrative, Enslaved had all the makings of a masterpiece. Sadly, a lot of minor issues add up to be a big enough issue to hamper the experience.

While the game looks great, both graphically and animation wise, the game leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to both its combat and platforming. Don't expect the climbing to have the same depth as Uncharted or Assassin's Creed, as it is essentially on rails. All you really do is press "x" and move forward. While it does make the platforming sections easy, it takes away a lot of the urgency in most of the games set pieces. It isn't until the last few chapters where platforming has a spike in difficulty and even then, it's neglible.

Combat is just barebones as the platforming. This can make for some frustrating encounters that often times feel like it's the fault of the game's balancing and design, not of the player. While serviceable, I often found myself wanting to rush through combat just to continue on with the story, the real only strong point that this game has to offer.

So with shoddy combat and platforming mechanics, this game may come off as a pass. However, the game's presentation and it's narrative more than warrant a playthrough. With an interesting dynamic between the two main characters and a gorgeous odyssey through a post apocalyptic US, this is one trip you won't forget.

2 Years Ago

NukeYourNanny

PC - 90%

Great game, solid story with decent combat controls and good puzzles. Endearing characters and great acting

2 Years Ago

BoomWav

PC - 80%

Fun game with some really good moments. The character are nice and some of the machines are awesome. Great voice acting. However, the platforming element feel really rough. Even simple jumps are never fluid. You end up rolling into invisible walls a lot. I'm happy I finished it tho because the last half of the game is really action packed and great. Definitely worth trying.

2.5 Years Ago

shiuan

PC - 70%

Quite good for a 2010 game, beautiful art design, facial animation is really good in comparison to games in its time. The platforming segment shouldn't be so linear though, and the combat beat-em-up segments got repetitive towards the end. Story pacing and tone is somewhat inconsistant for my taste.

3 Years Ago

Private

PlayStation 3 - 80%

Very good platformer. 8+

3 Years Ago

MetallicFever316

PC - 90%

This game is sweet. The story and the presentation are fantastic. The art style is beautiful and the music is awesome. I love excellent stories in video games and this is a prime example of one. It's gripping and the pacing is great. The characters are actually lovable, except one, but even he becomes at the very least likable at the end. The only problem I had was the controls, which are kind of annoying since they feel pretty stiff. Also the camera fights against you a lot and messes up movement, which is why this game doesn't get a 100%. However, that aside, this game is amazing. I definitely highly recommend it!

3 Years Ago

jedibug

PC - 90%

Loved this game and the story. It's extremely underated.

3.5 Years Ago

proglynn

Xbox 360 - 90%

Great game, good story.

3.5 Years Ago

FuzzyLapin

PlayStation 3 - 70%

Decent action-adventure game while it lasted, but fairly forgettable after-the-fact.

4 Years Ago

NiceGuyNeon

PC - 60%

Cool story with beautiful graphics, but gameplay mechanics are way too simple.

4 Years Ago

Monkeytart

PC - 70%

Combat gets pretty repetetive towards the end and the game could have used a bit more character development. But the game has a lot of charm and the story is enjoyable enough to make it a positive experience.

4 Years Ago

aversiveesperado

PlayStation 3 - 70%

Knocking off 3 points due to repetitive combat, frustrating controls, and a bland story which tries to be bigger than it actually is. Not a bad game, but it feels forgettable.

4.5 Years Ago

snowmind

PC - 80%

ENSLAVED: Odyssey to the West is an action adventure game that caught me by surprise. Purchased on sale sometime ago, it stayed in my backlog while my expectations of it were quite low and had completely forgotten about it. Trying it out today for the first time, I have to say it blew my mind away in such a way that Resident Evil 4 did 10 years ago on the Wii and its introduction of motion controls.

Being a console port of course the usual gripes follow it, such as no screen/gpu options to fine-tune, bearable keyboard/mouse controls, fixed fps, some awkward camera views etc. I found that my modest/dated laptop (nVidia GTX860m) managed to liberty bank monticello mn the 60fps @ 1080p resolution with just few and afar fps drops when there was a lot of action going on (xsplit indicated drops to 45fps). To add to that, initially playing with the keyboard/mouse combo it was unsatisfying and switching to DS4 gamepad it made a noticeable difference.

Despite the above, I thoroughly enjoyed ENSLAVED: Odyssey to the West. The scripted action was well placed, with a number of almost "on the rails" events that unfold to tell the story and the graphics galore sequences that accompany each step, were a pleasure to watch. Not to forget the enemy finishing moves (takedowns) which were great fun when the timing would trigger them!! On normal difficulty I found Enslaved relative easy, with over 2.5hrs non-stop immersion gaming till the first death and only a couple sticky points to require multiple re-runs (village top & leviathan power couples). Part of the game's charm for me was the amazing motion and voice acting of Monkey by Andy Serkis (Gollum?) along with Lindsay Shaw (Tripitaka), which brought the story of Wu Cheng'en's excellent novel, Journey to the West, into it's futuristic re-imagination. Having read the original, I was pleasantly surprised remembering all the references, roles and parallels of the original story.

Not a game for everyone but highly recommended nevertheless.

4.5 Years Ago

GFrom

PlayStation 3 - 80%

Really enjoyed this game.

4.5 Years Ago

Private

PC - 80%

Great story, emotional, fairly good gameplay, mouse and keyboard working ok. PC port not best doc holliday quotes, and the camera is anoying/head ache inducing, but generally a good game with likable characters.

4.5 Years Ago

LudwigvanMozart

PC - 60%

It was an OK game, but I expected more from it. My main problem was that the quality of the PC port was terrible - occasional framerate drops on a high-end computer, it was locked to 30 fps and 720p, the controls were clunky, and I had to manually adjust many settings to make it playable, and the mouse sensitivity was still terrible. But if we look over the technical hiccups, Enslaved odyssey to the west video review think we can find an enjoyable game. It's not that long, the story is intriguing, interesting characters, great relation between them, and also I enjoyed the ending too. The main gameplay elements were satisfying, I really liked the combat, and the game ended just when I started to get bored of it. The game sounds and looks great, it has an interesting atmosphere too, but I don't think that I will play it again, because I saw everything it had to offer in less then 9 hours, and even if the boss-battles were intriguing, the final one was just doing the same things we had to do before. So even if I think, that some people could enjoy this game far more than I did, I still 1st grade level books a bad taste in my mouth from it. For me it was a chore to play, and even if I loved the story, the gameplay wasn't that enjoyable for me, so after the epilogue, I felt, that I was freed from a burden.

4.5 Years Ago

Daolin

PC - 60%

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West may be one of the underrated Games out there. While the Gameplay can be a bit repetitively, the Story about Moral (imo) is very interesting. North rockland high school map a great Game! Absolutely worth it!

4.5 Years Ago

videogameslab

Xbox 360 - 70%

A pretty solid game with a decent mix of platforming and action. The platforming bits were not really challenging, but still solid. I had a few problems with delayed responses after pushing buttons and some minor camera issues at the end. The story is well told and has some good character development, but a weird finish to the game.

4.5 Years Ago

demidivine

PC - 70%

likeable chars, though not card my yard plano closure between Trip and Monkey
Pigsy was a hero, must not be forgotten
Ending was weird, but in a good way
did not like ending part using a real life human, instead of using a cgi char
want a sequel, need closure on them being together afterwards

5 Years Ago

jukeboxbaby

PlayStation 3 - 90%

9 1/2 out of ten.
The camera angle when fighting could be a bit stupid sometimes, and a couple other little gameplay awkardness, but other then that I loved it.

5.5 Years Ago

balitingtong1

PC - 60%

Great story and writing but lacklustre gameplay, unintuitive combat on the PC and generally the unwieldiness and unresponsiveness of the game atv rental corolla nc it a chore.

5.5 Years Ago

Private

PC - 70%

A mediocre action game held up by strong characters and storytelling. There are some awesome environments throughout the game, but the graphics are severely dated even after extensive tweaking. Similarly combat is lacking and several game mechanics (most boss encounters, cloud, etc) are glitchy. The second half of the game is also notably weaker than the first half, although the ending is solid if you've paid attention. Overall it's a game well worth playing for gamers who enjoy good experiences, while those who primarily enjoy mechanics should probably steer clear.

6 Years Ago

Flunkhaus

PC - 80%

Originally played on 360 years ago but picked up for cheap on PC. Still as good as I remember it being and looks even better on the PC at 1440p. A little glitchy with some crashing, but that was mostly on start. Fun gameplay, a great story, and really memorable characters. Fantastic voice acting as well!

6 Years Ago

droptheh4mm3r

Xbox 360 - 90%

"Enslaved is a post-apocalyptic retelling of the classic 400-year old novel �Journey to the West�."

The story is where this game shines, since it's a retelling of a legendary Chinese novel. The gameplay is very good and action is engaging and fun. The two main characters are foil characters and it's great watching them interact.

6 Years Ago

sugiraku

PC - 70%

This game was really good! The plot was kinda standard and predictable but the characters were believable and their performances were great. The art design was fantastic and the combat was enjoyable. Maybe not in depth enough for a longer game, but for a game of this it stayed fun throughout. I definitely recommend someone looking for a good beat em up check it out!

6 Years Ago

Private

PlayStation 3 - 80%

Nice graphics and game play. The interactions between Monkey and Trip made the game that much better.

6 Years Ago

Foreverseeking

PC - 90%

A game that was created with so much love and attention to detail, and I heard so very little about it when it was released. The graphics are beautiful, and work perfectly with Nvidia 3D, to really showcase the high resolution assets and art design. The animations are early Pixar worthy, and story telling solid with little drops of humour that made me chuckle.

Gameplay is far simpler, fighting is fun although repetitive and scaling walls is easy, child friendly and again slightly repetitive. At the same time, this game never outstays its welcome, and at 9 hours long feels about right for a game of this caliber.

Can highly recommend to everyone out stocks to buy today usa that loves AAA Action games that have oodles of charm and are simple enough to guarantee the game can be completed in a day or two.

6.5 Years Ago

Dantes_Typhoon

Xbox 360 - 90%

*9/10*
3/3-Graphics (how the game looks)
3/3-Story (How entertaining the game is)
3/3-Ease of use/Technical gameplay (how the game feels)
0/1-Replay-ability (will I play it again?)

6.5 Years Ago

arklad

PC - 70%

Good characters, interesting enough story. The combat system is a bit repetitive, although the combats get better towards the end.

6.5 Years Ago

ntylerwetrust

PC peoples trust insurance agent login 80%

Huh.ok.

I actually did enjoy the game, it was probably the most fun I've had with a Ninja Theory game but overall I enjoyed the experience and some day I would be up for playing it again. The story is all over the place and gets weird, but that seems to be a Ninja Theory thing so its expected at this point.

6.5 Years Ago

Combicon

PC - 50%

While the game is supported by an incredibly unique and interesting IP, it's hampered quite badly by at best generic console action-adventure systems.

7 Years Ago

airbender131090

PC - 70%

Good game.Good story.Very good Characters.

7 Years Ago

ravenrue

PC - 70%

Great game with a fairly enjoyable story.
Graphics: 9/10
Story: 8/10
Ending: 4/10
Controls: 8.5/10
Music: 9/10

TOTAL: 7.3/10
A must play game, but probably won't ever play again.

7 Years Ago

Private

PC - 40%

Odyssey to the West is "Waterworld : the Video Game".

7 Years Ago

Sil3nt_Bullet

PC - 80%

+Good voice acting
+Great story
+Excellent character design
+Nice and simple climbing mechanics

-Combat is not fun at all
-No extra content, just straight ahead main story
-It can gets very repetitive

7 Years Ago

JernauGurgeh

PC - 90%

The most vivid and colourful representation of a post-apocalyptic wasteland in a video game ever, with enjoyable characters you feel empathy for, as well as fluid and exciting gameplay. One of my all-time fave action games ever, though I do feel the plot and background stories could've been fleshed out a bit, and the end level, though fun, seems a bit OTT and at odds with the rest of the game. Also, there's Monkey, Pigsy and Tripitaka, but where's Sandy? To make up for these minor shortcomings, it has Andy Serkis, enormous mechs and MONKEY RAAAAAAAAGE!!!!

7 Years Ago

chuck

PC - 80%

A classic Chinese tale retold in a post apocalyptic setting. The game play offers nothing new (see Prince of Persia) but the story is nice, the characters are great and well voice acted, and the action changes up just often enough to stay fun. If you're a sucker a original IP like I am you'll love this game.

7.5 Years Ago

arefinzz

PC - 60%

Great characters and interesting level design. Enslaved odyssey to the west video review fun playing. though some minor bug were in PC port.

7.5 Years Ago

RaidenDP

Xbox 360 - 90%

Score applies only to the first half of the game. Second half gets a 40%.

8 Years Ago

bdh_

PC - 70%

Some good, some not nearly as good, but I had fun so I guess that's all that really matters? Though it's kind of a shame that I enjoyed the first third more than the rest of the game.

8 Years Ago

Roxbeef

Xbox 360 - 80%

Fair game.

8.5 Years Ago

gcpieters

PlayStation 3 - 90%

Enslaved was one of those strange experiences were I kept feeling like I was supposed to be blown away, and I just wasn't.
There were lots of little things (g%$#mn camera! was a phrase I uttered a few times during boss battles. Enslaved odyssey to the west video review platforming). Some boss battles were just reduced to figuring out what the weak point was and repeating the same pattern to defeat for 5-10 minutes.

It's a strange because the game has so many good qualities: the story and characters, while not as quite good as Uncharted, are definitely close. World is good. The escort aspect (because you are escorting Trip the ENTIRE game) is actually well done. Never did I feel the desire intentionally let Trip die because she did something stupid. Rare in an escort style game.

9 Years Ago

GilJaysmith

Xbox 360 - 90%

Long but fantastic all cabins for you black bear lodge way.

9.5 Years Ago

chelsea1196

Xbox 360 - 100%

Great adventure game, it's got great story and action.
I should give it an eight for having a terrible ending cut scene, but the action makes up for it

Источник: https://howlongtobeat.com/game?id=3126&s=reviews

Enslaved Odyssey to the West Premium Edition

Author:Mat GrowcottCategory:Action, Adventure, PC Reviews, Date: 4th November, 2013

Enslaved Odyssey to the West Premium Edition

Release:24/10/2013
Publisher:Namco Bandai Games
Developer:Ninja Theory
Genre:
PEGI:T
Comments:

 

 

OUR SCORE

GamesReviews8.0GreatAbout Rating

          

 

7.5 - Gameplay
           

 

7.5 - Video
           

 

8.0 - Audio
          

 

Enslaved Odyssey to the West Review – Introduction

Enslaved Odyssey to the West was a criminally underrated title based on the Chinese classic Journey to the West, made popular in the UK by television show Monkey (or Monkey Magic, if you’re from the US). Unfortunately, sales seemed to be about as lousy as the reviews, and with the announcement of DmC: Devil May Cry, Enslaved got thrown out by the anti-Ninja Theory crowd.

Released on PC for the first time last week, Enslaved has a second chance to thrive in a post-Last of Us world. Will people finally recognise it for the diamond in the rough it always was?

The Last of Us

The comparison to The Last of Us is apt. Two people must cross a post-apocalyptic world using only their abilities and smarts. Along the way, relationships are formed, arguments had. The games even share a visual similarity (and a lead designer).

The difference is in the gameplay. While The Last of Us was a pseudo-stealth title (like Batman), Enslaved is far more about hitting things. It’s resides in that place somewhere between the themes of The Last of Us and the combat of DmC: Devil May Cry. It works, but isn’t so terribly original that it manages to achieve far more than that. You’ll hit things and then move on. You’ll explore a little, find some more things to hit, and then move onto the next area.

Although the developers give you a fairly good mix of things to hit, and circumstances under which to hit them, this is never really built on very successfully. At first glimpse, it seems to be no deeper than any other beat ’em up.

But why should it be?

Journey to the West

For a start, it’s already got a lot more pedigree that most games. When Enslaved was originally announced, I was a little disappointed that they’d decided they needed to set it in the future. The original story is good enough that a straight up adaptation would have been great, complete with all the Buddhist mythology on top of it.

Enslaved is better judged as an experience, rather than by its parts. I hate to be one of those people but you have to get into how it flows to really see it at its best

The developers proved me wrong. Although I’d still enslaved odyssey to the west video review to see a game based properly upon Journey to the West, Enslaved managed to capture the very loose basis of the book while also capturing something else. The sci-fi setting works, mostly thanks to the focus on the characters.

It can be a bit melodramatic at times, and things too often seem like a means to an end (“Let’s set something up so that a robot can jump out for the player to fight”), but it’s not unenjoyable. Enslaved has character, and deserves more than just a passing glance. If you play the tutorial and decide the gameplay isn’t for you, if you turn it off and never play it again, you’ve done it wrong. It deserves more than enslaved odyssey to the west video review. It deserves more than many people gave it.

Enslaved is better judged as an experience, rather than by its parts. I hate to be nj pnc bank routing number of those people – you can make any game perfect by ignoring its bad points and getting teary eyed over how much you enjoyed it – but you have to get into how it flows to really see it at its best. 

 

Yes, the fighting is a little dull, but there’s a weight there that quite suits the character, and the design around the way Santander auto finance dealer services moves is very clever. Yes, sometimes the story can be a little heavy handed or will focus on the wrong bit, but overall it works.

It could have used a little more tying together, a little longer in R & D, but what’s there is by no means bad.

Born from an Egg on a Mountain Top…

It’s not the deviation from the source that’s cause for concern here, nor is it the occasional hiccup. Instead, Enslaved suffers from pacing issues that just make it a drag to get through. There are times where it just doesn’t feel fun. You seen more or less everything, and then you’re repeating. Some enemies have too much health as well, so not only are you fighting them again, but it takes ages as well.

By re-releasing, Namco Bandai are giving Enslaved a second chance. Now it's up to us to show we appreciate it

This makes the negatives stick out rather more than they would otherwise.

Audio is great – occasional score highlights important scenes and the voice work is especially good (even if Andy Serkis’s American access is a little difficult to get used to). Nothing to complain about, sometimes perhaps even amongst some of the better performances of this generation. The only complaint? Nothing quite on the scale of that original Monkey theme tune (he really WAS the funkiest monkey that ever popped).

The graphics were always quite nice, especially around the faces. This pretty much remains true. Even on PC, the backdrops are a little dated. Colourful, varied, but very old looking. In terms of movement and facial animation, it’s some of the best going. They put a lot of effort into this, and the direction is very strong as well. The PC version is certainly more smooth than the console version, although there are occasional stutters as you begin exploring new locations.

Conlusion

Enslaved isn’t the sort of game that you stick on a Game of the Year list, or that you remember as a beacon of innovation and creativity for years to come. It’s the sort of game that’s not just good, it’s solid. It’s enjoyable. It’s affordable. It’s the sort of game that you enjoy every second of, and that finishes just when it should.

It’s not perfect, but it’s worth checking out. By re-releasing, Namco Bandai are giving Enslaved a second chance. Now it’s up to us to show we appreciate it.

Positives

  • Facial and character animation is perfect, the rest of the world is above passable
  • The story is good enough, and it’s performed well
  • The fighting can be a little unvaried, but is a decent means to an end
  • The nature of monkey was… irrepressible!

Negatives

  • It can be an occasionally bumpy ride
  • Pacing is a little off

 

Trailer

Article By Mat Growcott

blank Mat Growcott has been a long-time member of the gaming press. He's written two books and a web series, and doesn't have nearly enough time to play the games he writes about.

Follow Mat on:
Twitter: @matgrowcott    Google Plus: matgrowcott

 

Источник: https://www.gamesreviews.com/pc/pc-reviews/11/enslaved-odyssey-west-premium-edition/

There’s something special about a good B movie. You know the type–that kind of hugely ambitious movie that clearly escaped the director’s control. That brilliant flick where the budget clearly ran dry and left the director to try and piece together his vision with nothing but plungers, handheld camcorders, and duct tape. Enslaved: Odyssey to the West, a 2010 console outing by Cambridge-based studio Ninja Theory was essentially the video game version of a solid B movie. Its brilliant successes are matched only by it’s colossal failures, but now we have the chance to see how it fares on the PC.

I’m sorry to report that it doesn’t fare very well. Namco-Bandai has a bit of a history of lackluster ports–I’m looking at you, Dark Souls–but Enslaved has to be one of the worst I can remember. How bad is it? Graphics options are limited to “Resolution” and “Gamma.” In order to do something as simple as activate v-sync–and trust me, with the amount ot screen tearing you’ll see you do want v-sync–I had to manually flip it in the engine’s .ini files. But that’s not the worst bit. Not by a long shot. What could be worse, you ask? What if I told you that the menu screens can’t be navigated with a mouse? I hope you have a gamepad, because otherwise you’ll be reaching for the the retreat columbia Up-Down-Left-Right. Mods should improve the port in the coming months, but it’s still a damn shame that the community has to do what enslaved odyssey to the west video review have been handled by Ninja Theory or Namco-Bandai’s QA department.[singlepic id=17170 w=620 h=350 float=]

Still, I guess I can’t be too mad about it–after three years I’d given up hope of ever seeing a PC copy of Enslaved. It has its share of flaws–maybe more than its share–but there is a lot to love. The story is a clever reimagining of the classic Chinese tale Journey to the West (some readers may know it as Monkey) transported to the mech-filled remnants of a bombed-out USA. The player controls Monkey (Andy Serkis), a hulking bruiser with a heart of gold, as he guides and protects the young Trip (Lindsey Shaw) back to her home. Together the pair will traverse a crumbling New York, scale massive metal hulks in what was once the Heartland, and maybe even bring enlightenment in the western deserts.

The star of the show here is the interaction between Monkey and Trip. Enslaved is one of the best written stories I can remember playing, mixing just the right amounts of pathos and humor. The fantastic script is only elevated by top-notch performances from Serkis and Shaw, who bring an incredible chemistry to their performances. And just when you get tired of Trip and Monkey you get to meet Pigsy (Richard Ridings), a porcine windstream bill pay sign in who is nearly as revolting as he is hilarious. From the moment he is introduced, Pigsy’s bumbling antics and cocksure arrogance win him the spotlight in nearly every scene. He even gets his own short campaign as a bonus, if the main plot doesn’t satisfy your pork craving.

I know you probably tuned out the moment you realized I was dancing around the words “post apocalyptic,” but hear me out! Look at the screenshots–Enslaved isn’t your average grey-brown dust bowl. The world Monkey and Trip share is lush and vibrant, full of brilliant red leaves and green grasses. Environments–especially the early scenes in New York–have such a wonderfully cohesive aesthetic and sense of scale that you’ll be willing to forgive Enslaved its flaws.

Which is good, because there’s plenty to forgive. Enslaved’s performance was lousy on consoles and the transition to PC has not done Ninja Theory any favors. Even after manually enabling v-sync, I had issues with screen tearing. Manually disabling motion blur smoothed out the framerate, but I still found enslaved chugging along in the mid 20s from time to time. Audio and video came uncoupled in more than few cutscenes along the way, really distracting from the excellent performances.[singlepic id=17169 w=620 h=350 float=]

Then there’s the gameplay. It’s not that Enslaved is bad, per se, it just lacks complexity. The combat system will force you to rely on a simple four-button combo to put damage, and that’s pretty much all there is to it. The oft-repeated post-combat dramatic zooms are cool the first time, but you’ll probably grow to hate them in the 8 hours it will take you to beat Enslaved. From time to time you’ll have to use Monkey’s staff as a kind of rifle in lackluster pop ‘n drop shooter segments, but in all honesty, the less said about those the better. Enslaved’s platforming isn’t really any more complex–find the blinking pipe or ledge, press the stick towards it, and tap the action button. Lacking any real challenge and requiring very little effort, platforming bits are carried by the amazing vistas and set design, more than by solid gameplay.

It’s difficult to settle on any kind of final rating for Enslaved because it contradicts itself so damn much. On the one hand the graphics are buggy, the core gameplay lacks complexity, and the PC port is underwhelming at best. On the other hand, the things that Enslaved does well–story, setting, characters, and art design–it does better than damn near any game I can remember playing. Your enjoyment of Enslaved will essentially come down to how much emphasis you place on these different aspects. Gamers that need perfectly optimized, AAA experiences and complex, rewarding gameplay are probably not going to find what they need here. The rest of us? We’ll settle in and enjoy Enslaved for what it is: a flawed but ambitious B movie.[singlepic id=17168 w=620 h=350 float=]

 

 

Enslaved is as ambitious as it is flawed. Those of you who can put mankato university apartments with mediocre gameplay and a lack of polish will find a touching, rewarding story heightened by top-notch cast performances. Others need not apply.

—Addie What is capital gains tax on selling a business written, touching dialogue and story

  • Fantastic cast performances and chemistry
  • Unique, colorful depiction of post-apocalyptic USA.
  • CONS

    Addie grew up near Detroit. After studying Cell Biology at the University of Michigan and spending a year looking into microscopes, Addie decided to volunteer--playing video games. hobbies run from gaming to music (voice, bass, guitar) to rugby. Addie is a strong supporter of indie and low-cost gaming, an area she thinks is underserved by the media.

    Источник: https://gamingtrend.com/feature/reviews/beautiful-loser-enslaved-odyssey-west-premium-edition/

    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a game that has some shiny problems. They’re not glaring problems, but just shiny enough to catch your eye as you encounter them. Controlling the main character — named Monkey either because he climbs like a monkey or is a big lovable ape — is somewhat unresponsive and clumsy. The combat is simplistic, and can be repetitive. There are also glitches that pop up throughout the game, but rarely any that require a reset. These are things that, when combined, will understandably drive down the review score of an otherwise good game, but in the case of Enslaved: Odyssey to the West, it just doesn’t work like that.

    The folks over at Ninja Theory, the development team behind Enslaved, approach their games differently than the average studio, rocklands bbq and grilling company a Pixar level of peparation to an element that most hand off to one or two writers. Story, and to an even greater degree, characters, are everything in Enslaved. The two elements work together to drive the experience forward in every respect, and it pays off. The game is not perfect, and neither is the story, but it national holiday in dubai tomorrow told so well, and the world and the people who live there are so well realized, that you just want to be there and experience what is being offered.

    The characters’ performances and animations are particularly exemplary, and put many digital actors to shame. Andy Serkis, who played Gollum in the Lord of the Rings films, takes the lead role of Monkey and delivers an absolutely believable performance as the gruff loner. Trip is played by Lindsey Shaw and delivers an often genuinely heart-wrenching genius, in a sympathetic circumstance. It’s unusual to mention the names of a game’s voice actors in its review, but they deserve the recognition, as they are both a big part of what makes Enslaved so great.

    Enslaved takes place in a future where humanity’s chokehold on the world has been dwindling for a few hundred years. AI-controlled mechs roam the landscape searching for humans to enslave, and those who resist are killed. You play as Monkey, an unfortunate capture who gets incidentally freed by Trip. Trip places a slave headband on Monkey that is fatally connected to her. If she dies, you die, so you are forced to cooperate with her and be her slave, and BAM! The title of the game suddenly makes perfect sense. Luckily, Trip is actually a really nice person, and even though you may have a bit of rough exterior as Monkey, you’re a pretty good guy, too. What follows is a series if mishaps, mech fighting, and friendship blossomings as you protect Trip on her way home. There is actually a whole lot more to the story than that, but to go into any more detail would hurt the core experience of the game. Just know that you are going to want to know what is happening next, and you will push forward to the end to find out.

    The actual gameplay is of the fighting, jumping, puzzling kind. The combat is fairly simple and is mostly melee crossed with a bit of shooting. Melee breaks down to heavy and light attacks, with a couple of simple special moves distributed for good measure. The combat rarely provides too extreme of a challenge, but is a joy to watch. Using the phrase, "a joy to watch," actually goes a long way to describe many elements of the game. The platforming and puzzle elements serve mainly to show off the game’s excellent art direction and animation. Much like 2008’s Prince of Persia, platforming ends up being an almost passive experience. You have control of Monkey as he leaps and climbs all cover the world, but it is literally impossible to make a mistake. If you know where to go, push the control stick in that direction and repeatedly press A. If you’re not sure where to go, and you push the control stick in the wrong direction, Monkey will stay put. It’s as if he knows exactly where to go, and your only purpose as the player, is to tell him when he is allowed to move forward. It leads to very little challenge throughout the game, but it is still fun to watch Monkey swing and leap his way throughout the world. (Editor’s note: This platforming is as fine an example of interactive spectatorship as gamers will see in today’s gaming landscape.)

    As Monkey, you may be protecting Trip, but you are not her babysitter. Actual confrontations between Trip and the mechs are rare. Most of the time, she is perfectly capable of taking care of herself in some safe corner as you beat the angry robots to mechanical death. This makes Trip much less of a liability than the average gaming sidekick. In fact, the few areas where she is not around to provide helpful backup end up being the parts of the game enslaved odyssey to the west video review can be frustrating. You work better as a team, and it helps to create a stronger emotional bond between the two characters.

    The developers at Ninja Theory have openly stated that they create their games in the interest of pushing forward storytelling santander bank hours brick nj games. With very few exceptions, videogame stories and characters are often only as enslaved odyssey to the west video review as the armor they equip. Enslaved won’t be the game that will tip the industry scale toward the serious artistic medium bank of america com card app status all want it to be, but it has certainly added a lot of weight.

    5 out of 5

    Источник: http://www.gamernode.com/enslaved-odyssey-to-the-west-review/

    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West Review

    Presentation

    84

    Ninja Theory's post apocalyptic vision dispels of the 'barren wasteland' stereotype. Beautiful foliage coated environments and fast paced, plasma strewn combat make Enslaved an aesthetically pleasing third person action title.

    Gameplay

    75

    Nothing wildly new to thrill or excite, but what Enslaved does, it pulls off efficiently and with minimum fuss. Basic yet solid combat walks hand in hand with easily navigated Uncharted style jumping sections. Simple and sufficient.

    Single Player

    87

    Intriguing narrative and well worked character relationships make this a journey to remember. Clocking in at around eight hours on normal difficulty, the game has a degree of scope for replayabilty due to its charm and accessibility.

    Multiplayer

    NR

    None

    Performance

    84

    Occasional slow down issues when engaging in larger scale battles do little to detract from what is otherwise a lovely looking game. Impressive environments and backdrops play stage to the predominantly smooth action.

    Overall

    84

    The gameplay relies on tried and tested formulas, but familiarity in that respect shouldn't detract from what is an engrossing and enchanting title. In a market saturated with subpar writing and bland characters, Odyssey To The West is a notable exception.

    Источник: https://www.newgamenetwork.com/
    enslaved odyssey to the west video review

    1 Replies to “Enslaved odyssey to the west video review”

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *